Sachin Tendulkar voted Cricketer of the Generation

ESPN-Cricinfo 2013 awards

Sachin Tendulkar beat out Jacques Kallis, Shane Warne

Award meant to honour the most outstanding cricketer between the years 1993 and 2013

One of the greatest batsmen of all time, the iconic Sachin Tendulkar of India was on Friday voted Cricketer of the Generation by a 50-member jury of current and former cricketers and journalists.

Tendulkar, the only cricketer to score hundred international centuries, beat strong competition from Shane Warne and Jacques Kallis to win the award, presented to mark the first generation of the existence of ESPNcricinfo, which has been online since 1993. The Mumbaikar ended his glorious 24-year international career last November, signing off with an elegant 74 against the West Indies in his final Test innings.

India’s Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma won the awards for best batting performances in Tests and ODIs while Mitchell Johnson of Australia and Shahid Afridi of Pakistan bagged the top prize in Test bowling and ODI bowling, respectively, at the seventh annual ESPNcricinfo Awards. While Mitchell Johnson took 59 wickets in eight Tests, including a series-defining 7 for 40 in the Ashes Test in Adelaide against England, Shahid Afridi won the ODI bowling award for the second time for his 7 for 12 against West Indies in a comeback match. Shikhar Dhawan won the Test batting award for his 187 on debut against Australia in Mohali last year. Rohit Sharma’s ODI double-century in Bangalore against Australia was picked as the ODI batting performance of the year.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.