India loses 5th ODI by 87 runs, series win for New Zealand

Emphatic series win for New Zealand as India loses by 87 runs

Taylor slams second ton while Henry takes four wickets in his debut

Fifth ODI

The Indian cricket team slumped to its worst ODI series defeat in New Zealand, as the hosts completed an emphatic 4-0 win with an 87-run victory in the fifth and final ODI in Wellington. After winning the toss and electing to field at the Basin Reserve, India could do little to prevent the hosts making 303-5 in their 50 overs as Veteran batsman Taylor blazed his second successive century. For India Varun Aaron claimed two wickets.

The famed India batting came a cropper once again, bundled out for 216 in 49.4 overs, despite a battling 82 from Virat Kohli. Canterbury seamer Matt Henry skittled the world champions’ top order in a dream debut, claiming four for 38. Skipper Dhoni made 47.

Besides the tie in the third ODI in Auckland, India had suffered defeats in Napier and Hamilton (twice).

India: S Dhawan, RG Sharma, V Kohli, AM Rahane, AT Rayudu, MS Dhoni*, RA Jadeja, R Ashwin, B Kumar, VR Aaron, Mohammed Shami

New Zealand: MJ Guptill, JD Ryder, KS Williamson, LRPL Taylor, BB McCullum*, L Ronchi, NL McCullum, JDS Neesham, MJ Henry, KD Mills, MJ McClenaghan

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.